Thursday, December 18, 2014

Follow us:
News 14 Carolina is on Facebook Follow us on Twitter! RSS 


ACC announces 2013 Men’s basketball tournament legends

  • Text size: + -

GREENSBORO—The former Commissioner of the ACC, Gene Corrigan, and past member of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Committee, a pair of highly-successful head coaches and one of the only four ACC players who earned first- or second-team All-ACC honors in four consecutive seasons headlined the 2013 ACC Men’s Basketball Legends Class announced Thursday by ACC Commissioner John Swofford.

Included on the team are a member of the ACC’s 50th Anniversary basketball team, six All-Americas, three All-ACC selections, and four players who led their teams to five ACC Championships and two former successful coaches, including one who led Maryland to the 2002 National Championship.

Leading the way is Corrigan, who served on the NCAA’s Men’s Basketball Committee and oversaw the ACC for a 10-year period when the conference captured three NCAA Men’s Basketball Championships and saw 11 teams earn berths to the NCAA’s Final Four. Corrigan is a being honored as an ACC Legend this year as the ACC Men’s Basketball Tournament celebrates its 60th anniversary.

Other notables:

• Former Maryland head coach Gary Williams who led the Terrapins to the 2002 National Championships
• Former Wake Forest head coach Carl Tacy who led the Deacons to 222 victories in 13 seasons

For an in-depth and complete look at the 2013 ACC Men’s Basketball Legends Class, click here. ClientIP: UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP